The first organ here was a 3 manual built by Nicholson and Co of Worcester in the early 1900s. This was destroyed by an enemy bomb during world war two.

After the war a new instrument was ordered with the contract for this going to Henry Willis with the intention that it would be a 3 manual to replace the damaged Nicholson. Unfortunately the government funding for this ran out so this instrument was only partially constructed.

In about 1963 Compton was contracted to complete the instrument and was one of the last pipe organs to be worked on by the company before they sold off the pipe division to Rushworth and Dreaper and devoted their work solely on the production of electrone organs.

The scheme resulted in the present 2 manual instrument with the following specification:

Subbass 16'
Bourdun 16'
Bourdun 8'
Bourdun 4'
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal
Great and Pedal pistons combined

Bourdun 16'
Open Diapason I 8'
Open Diapason II 8'
Stopped Diapason 8'
Principal 4'
Flute Couverte 4'
Twelfth 2.2/3'
Fifteenth 2'
Swell to Great

Gedact 8'
Salicional 8'
Voix Celeste 8'
Gemshorn 4'
Flauto Traverso 4'
Nazard 2.2/3'
Fifteenth 2'
Trumpet 8'

4 thumb pistons to great
4 thumb pistons to swell duplicated by toe pistons
4 toe pistons to pedal
3 reversible thumb pistons
1 general cancel thumb piston
1 balanced expression pedal - swell
1 balanced expression pedal - crescendo (with warning light)