The organ was originally built in 1936 as a 3 manual instrument by Hill, Norman and Beard. In around the late 1950s, Compton rebuilt the organ as a 2 manual with the swell division consisting of mainly the original Hill, Norman and Beard pipework. The organ has the following specification:

Sub Bass 16'
Echo Bass 16'
Octave 8'
Flute 8'
Octave 4'
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal

Contra Salicional 16'
Open Diapason 8'
Hohl Flute 8'
Salicional 8'
Octave 4'
Flute 4'
Octave Quint 2.2/3'
Super Octave 2'
Nineteenth 1.1/3'
Twentysecond 2'
Swell Sub Octave to Great
Swell to Great
Swell Octave to Great

Viola da Gamba 16'
Vox Angelica 8'
Zauberflote 8'
Salicet 4'
Flute 4'
Fifteenth 2'
Mixture III
Contra Fagotto 16'
Cornopean 8'
Swell Sub Octave
Swell Unison Off
Swell Octave

3 double touch thumb pistons to Great and Pedal
3 double touch thumb pistons to Swell and Pedal
6 general thumb pistons
3 toe pistons to Pedal
3 toe pistons to Pedal
1 canceller thumb piston - Great to Pedal
1 canceller thumb piston - Swell to Pedal
Double touch canceller to each department
3 ventil switches