The organ was built by the John Compton Organ Company Ltd in 1954 to replace an earlier instrument by Willis which was destroyed by enemy action in 1941. As usual for Compton, the organ is totally enclosed with the exception of the patent '32ft Polyphonic Bass'. Also, in true Compton custom, the 'extension' technique is used employing 6 ranks of pipes: First Diapason, Second Diapason, Harmonic Flute, Salicional, Trumpet and Oboe.

The specification reads:

Harmonic Bass 32'
Open Diapason 16'
Sub Bass 16'
Salicional 16'
Octave 8'
Flute 8'
Trombone 16'
Oboe 16'
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal

Bourdon 16'
Open Diapason 1 8'
Open Diapason 2 8'
Harmonic Flute 8'
Salicional 8'
Octave 4'
Flute 4'
Salicet 4'
Twelfth 2.2/3'
Superoctave 2'
Fifteenth 2'
Trumpet 8'
Swell to Great

Contra Salicional 16'
Open Diapason 2 8'
Harmonic Flute 8'
Salicional 8'
Flute 4'
Salicet 4'
Nazard 2.2/3'
Piccolo 2'
Cymbale III
Contra Oboe 16'
Trumpet 8'
Oboe 8'
Clarion 4'
Tremulant (affects all divisions)

5 thumb pistons to Great and Pedal duplicated by toe pistons
5 thumb pistons to Swell duplicated by toe pistons
1 canceller thumb piston - Great to Pedal
1 canceller thumb piston - Swell to Pedal
1 thumb piston - general cancel
1 balanced expression pedal - organ
1 balanced expression pedal - crescendo
Ventil switches
Double touch canceller to each department

My good friend Rob Charles of Swansea also visited this fine Compton organ installation and so here are a couple of his videos he made there: