The organ was originally built in 1890 by Henry Willis and rebuilt in 1952 by Compton which included the installation of the present stopkey console. In 2015 the organ was overhauled by Harrison and Harrison of Durham. This instrument is a superb example of a Compton rebuild of an instrument by a different builder.

The specification reads:

Sub Bass 32'
Open Diapason 16'
Bourdon 16'
Violoncello 8'
Bass Flute 8'
Choir to Pedal
Great to Pedal
Swell to Pedal

Viola da Gamba 8'
Lieblich Gedact 8'
Dulciana 8'
Flute Harmonique 4'
Clarinet 8'
Sub Octave
Swell Sub Octave to Choir
Swell Octave to Choir
Swell to Choir

Bourdon 16'
Open Diapason 1 8'
Open Diapason 2 8'
Claribel Flute 8'
Principal 4'
Fifteenth 2'
Trumpet 8'
Clarion 4'
Choir to Great
Swell Sub Octave to Great
Swell Octave to Great
Swell to Great

Lieblich Bourdon 16'
Open Diapason 8'
Lieblich Gedact 8'
Salicional 8'
Principal 4'
Fifteenth 2'
Mixture III
Cornopean 8'
Oboe 8'
Sub Octave

4 double touch thumb pistons to great and pedal
4 double touch thumb pistons to swell and pedal
3 double touch thumb pistons to choir and pedal
4 reversible thumb pistons
2 reversible toe pistons
1 setter thumb piston
1 general cancel thumb piston
1 balanced expression pedal - choir
1 balanced expression pedal - swell